Thursday, October 25, 2012

Young Adult Mythology Hop and Persephone's Trouble


Mythology is such a fascinating subject, because myths--extremely similar myths--persist in the histories of all culture worldwide. Does this point to a common beginning? Shared stories (before social media??)? Or common themes of the human condition?





Whatever the reason, mythology never gets old and continues to reveal the depths, motives, and secrets of the human heart.





One of the most compelling myths is the story of Persephone. Some have called her story 'the rape of Persephone'. Rape most likely is better translated as 'abduction', but ultimately what's at stake is the loss of innocence.


A young maiden picking flowers in a field wanders away from her mother (Demeter). The earth suddenly opens and Hades emerges from below and abducts her, forcing her into marriage.

Demeter's grief--which causes crop failure and starvation--makes Hades release Persephone for a few months a year so the earth can recover and mankind can survive.

Kinda like the cycle of the seasons.



In my six book series, Apocalypse Babes, the main character (Seffy--get it? Tricky, right?) is a modern Persephone. She travels to 'Hades' against her will and spends her time torn between capitulating or fighting against the forces holding her there.


And instead of pomegranate seeds, a pink Juicy Couture tracksuit might be what holds Seffy in Hades--or is the vehicle for her ultimate release. Either way, she experiences her own personal apocalypse.



For a chance at free copies, please post your name and contact email in the comments section below. For fun, feel free to add your favorite myth. Five commenters will be randomly chosen to receive the six book set--only available for Kindle and Nook. If you want a preliminary peek at the first book, The Z Word, it's currently free for all ebook formats; Kindle, Nook, and Smashwords



Special thanks to I Am A Reader Not A Writer and For Those About To Read for sponsoring this hop. After entering mine, hop onto the next for more chances to win great books! And a special note: Be sure to check back in December for a big promotion of Apocalypse Babes. Grand prize will be a pink Juicy Couture tracksuit--you know you want one! :)



Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Things That Go Bite In The Night


It's that time of year when the leaves begin to turn, when there's a brisk chill in the air...when there's a faint coppery tinge of blood, rotting flesh, and dystopian drama.

That means it's zombie time.

Sometimes zombies are cute.  


 But more often zombies are brain-munching fiends. And attempts to survive them can be even messier. There are plenty of stories to keep you looking over your shoulder when the zombie apocalypse is nigh.

If you enjoy dark zombie apocalypse tales in the vein of Forest of Hands and Teeth
and Enclave...


then check out new author Emily Shore's zombacalypse take in Flesher



Ashleigh Starr, known as Ash to all but one, carries a dark secret, punishable by a fate worse than death. In an apocalyptic world where humanity has been invaded by a new virus for years, Ash bears the burden of a forbidden love on her shoulders, the forbidden love of one of the Infected, those her people call the Fleshers. Fleshers — unclean beings who are believed to be cursed and punished by their desire to feed on human flesh and blood. Ash spends her days exploring in the abandoned city outside the walls of her village and gathering bandages for the man she loves, the man who becomes a flesher at night only to return to human form at morning. Her only protection from the laws of her village comes from her ability to keep Garrett a secret in her home and from her blood, which is immune to the fleshers’ bite and blood.

But the day Ash is given a treatment for Garrett is when their secret love is threatened by the future leader of her village. With two newfound visitors from the outside, Ash and Garrett escape into the land of the undead seeking a way to turn their treatment into a cure. But they are pursued by Lucius, the bloodthirsty future leader, who vows to have his revenge on Garrett for past wounds. And he won’t stop until he’s killed Ash and felt her immune blood on his hands.



I loved the theme of a post-apocalyptic world in which the attempts to survive might be worse than the actual disease that caused the apocalypse if the first place. I found Ashleigh to be a more likeable character and enjoyed her strength and spirit during difficult odds. A dark, compelling read!

Flesher is available for Kindle, Nook, and on iTunes.  Check out Emily's website and Facebook.

But most of all, look over your shoulder. Because what you find just might surprise you.

Monday, October 1, 2012

A Great Review Makes My Monday

http://thegirlwiththegreenshovel.blogspot.com/

Got a Google alert that a book of mine was mentioned and found out fantabulous author Shawn Maravel did a review of one of my books. Made my day! And that's saying something when that day was Monday.

Thanks, Shawn!

So I'm gonna share it here, 'cause, yeah, it was that good. And while you're at it, check out Shawn's book reviews, and her great romance novels, the Volition Series and the Rider Series at her blog, The Green Shovel.

Shawn is reading the third book in my Apocalypse Babes series, iRobotronic


Shawn sez..."I mentioned in my review of the first novel in the Apocalypse Babes series The Z Word that Seffy, the main character, comes off at first as a character you honestly wouldn't mind seeing get eaten. She's shallow, selfish, whinny, and seemingly useless. BUT, I go on to mention in the review that along the way, without your permission, you come to actually root for Seffy. The threat of liking her even begins to surface. Now, this to me is a CLEAR INDICATION of Street's literary genius. Never have I ever gone from hating a character so much to actually liking them. Never. I mention this because if you pick up the series, this is likely to be something you notice as well but i must insist that you keep reading. It only gets better.
In this installment you pick up right where you left off from book two. Not being a big fan of reading series books back to back, it had been quite a while since I had read book two. However, Street demonstrates her innate talent for story telling yet again by making it so dang easy to get caught up to speed. This is me is a sure-fire sign of an author's talent. Touching up on characters, setting, plot, and other minor details that need refreshing without it coming off as if the author is simply trying to catch you back up to speed and not being very tactful about it. With Street it's effortless. Truly
."

Hey, I'll take it!!

Find out why Seffy was so awful risk-free. The Z Word (book one) is FREE in for Kindle, Nook, and everything else. Or just grab the whole 6 book set for less than a fiver. 

Apocalypse Babes: The Complete Series $4.99

Who said Mondays were the end of the world?